when i was twelve…

Standard

my parents took me to my first hockey game. It was at the Fabulous Forum in Los Angeles. We had thee best seats in the house….behind the glass, to the right of the opposing team’s penalty box. It was the first time I understood what it meant to be in my element. I was transformed from the moment I stepped into the Forum. The smell of the ice, the rush of the cold on my face….nothing else existed for me in that arena. And in that game was a small, but speedy center/left wing, with long flowing blond hair, who I couldn’t. stop. watching! He scored, he assisted, he killed penalties, he led powerplays….and he always showed his love for the game. He was a leader and fan favorite year after year.  His name, you ask? Butch Goring. Number 19. And like my parents, I became a season ticket holder at the ripe old age of 12, never missing a home game and watching every away game. I was hooked!  (no pun intended)  I watched Butch play at the Fabulous Forum until he was traded to the N.Y. Islanders in March of 1980. It broke my heart, but it became abundantly clear to me that this trade was the best thing that could have happened to HIM…he would go on to be the catalyst for the Islanders in what turned out to be four consecutive Stanley Cup championships and earning himself many trophies along the way! He continues to be passed over for the Hockey Hall of Fame or even have his number retired up in the rafters in Long Island. However, this hopeful girl continues to believe that one day, that will change, and Butch will get the honors he so justly deserves.

in other hockey news, i must express my sadness over the past weeks news of passings and arrests. As those of you know who are part of this wonderful sport, our hockey family is a tight-knit group. These boys give their heart and soul to the game, their families, their charities, and their fans. And, when one of them gets hurt or is dealing with something difficult, everyone rallies around them. Cause that’s what (hockey) families do. I hope that the Boogaard and Moncrief families know they are in our thoughts during this difficult time.

switching gears now, i wanted to let you all know that I have graduation and Fathers Day cards now posted for sale in my etsy shop. They are all very reasonably priced and there’s something for everyone! I will post a few of them now, so you can get a taste of what’s on the shelves. You can see them all at http://www.etsy.com/shop/19Designs.

and to those of you with graduating children, whether they be moving on from elementary school or high school, I congratulate you for a job well done! I have a senior myself and it’s hard to believe just how fast this all went! Cheers!

About 19 Designs

just a girl raised at the Fabulous Forum that fell in love with the Los Angeles Kings; loyal to my boys and passionate about the game; scrapbooker by accident; ETSY seller by choice; happy wife and mom courtesy of my amazing best friend/husband and my beautiful kids!

One response »

  1. Reading about your experience with discovering hockey, I think that I just might have to add a hockey game to my life itinerary. Can you believe I’ve never been to see one?! BTW, I love the graduation cards. Too cute~!

Leave a Reply

